top of page
  • Writer's pictureLily Jieru Muir

Wrap vs. Ring Sling

Updated: Apr 3, 2020

Wondering if a wrap or a ring sling is better for you and your bebe? I'll tell you all my pros and cons about my favorite wraps and ring slings.

Solly Wraps


Okay first of all of Solly's materials are buttery buttery soft! They make swaddles, pjs, crib sheets and or course wraps. Just waiting for the day they make adult sheets!


Solly's are the best wraps out there! They're super light and comfy. Other wraps that are cheaper are heavier and definitely not anywhere near as soft. Solly has beautiful colors for both genders as well as gender neutral options. All their patterns are very subtle as well.


I'm not going to lie these kinds of wraps intimidated me so much! I tried practicing when I was pregnant but couldn't figure it out with my big belly. I watched pretty much all of the videos on their Instagram and website before even attempting to use my wrap. It took me about 3 or 4 tries to nail down the technique. Elle (the owner of Solly) is super sweet and very helpful. Solly even offers one on one video chats if you're having trouble with your wraps. I this companies love and support for their customers and those in less fortunate countries.


Solly Wraps can used from brith (they like to say from womb to wrap) up to 25lbs.


I'll be honest I don't like trying to put a wrap on in public. Solly does not offer different length wraps so they're very very long (especially for a 5'2" person) and touch the ground when you're tying them. The tails of the wrap don't touch your baby so if they do get dirty its just tied around your waist. The first time I used the Solly to meet friends for a walk I tried to drape as much of the fabric on the inside of my car seats while I tied it on in the parking lot. A lot of mamas suggest pre tying your wrap before you go somewhere. Another thing I had to get used to when loving my body postpartum is showing off your curves with this wrap. Because you need to tie tightly around what was your waist to prevent any slack (causing your wrap to shift and moving the baby) it definitely will show you new found love handles...


Ring Slings


I love my Hope & Plum Ring Sling!


Wildbird


Wildbird was the first brand of baby carriers I had heard of besides the typical/mainsteam carriers like Ergobaby and Graco. They caught my eye first thing. I knew I wanted one but thought ring slings were really expensive to begin with. But Wildbirds colors and patterns are absolutely gorgeous.

I love that ring slings come in lengths! It’s the story of my life that everything is always too long. Even short cut jeans are too long on me... I also love that you can pick the finish material of the ring on your sling.

Personally I think it’s easier to put a ring sling than a wrap but I have plenty of moms who think reversed. Because ring slings are made in different lengths they don‘t touch the floor like wraps do. My favorite thing about ring slings are how fast they are to put on. It only took me one try to figure out how to wear my ring sling.

However ring slings need to be broken in! The material is a lot tougher and will soften over time. They’re not uncomfortable but they definitely get comfier with each wear. Slings also come in different materials which I thought was super confusing. What‘s the different between a single and a double wrap? And who knows what a model vs a solid is? To this day I’m still a little confused between the difference but I do know Wildbird & mammas recommend first time wears get a model because it’s the easiest to break into. Ring sling's materials also are a little heavier than Solly's wraps so if you tend to get sweaty a ring sling might be better for the colder days.

Wildbird can hold newborns up to 35lbs.


I think ring slings can be more flattering at times because you're not tying something around your body and accentuating anything. They do take a bit of adjusting from wraps because the weight isn't as evenly distributed.


You can also use your ring sling as a belly band for support near the end of your pregnancy!

Solly

Pros -light, comfortable,

Cons -tails drag, longer to put on, unflattering at times, baby can shift if not tied correctly


Wildbird/Hope & Plum

Pros-fast to put on, can hold more weight, variable lengths

Cons -sweatier, needs to be broken in, ring can dig into shoulder if not worn correctly

I love both wraps and ring slings both so many reasons. They both keep your baby close to you and help you do your every day tasks while looking super cute. Sophie loves being cuddled and held so she loves being worn. She doesn’t stay awake for long in either wraps or ring slings. I personally love having multiples to keep in the house/car/diaper bag! You never know when a baby carrier will come in handy.

There are a few second hand Facebook groups that sell wraps and slings if you want to try one out if you’re not sure if you and your baby will love it or you simply can’t splurge right now. And of course always be on the look out for a giveaways!


*Both wraps and slings are safe for your newborn but it‘s recommend waiting until they are 8lbs. Always consult or ask you doctor if you have a premie or a smaller baby.



Wraps & Slings pictured

Solly Taupe (not available anymore)

Solly Flax

Hope & Plum Coquina

Wildbird Kingbird (with rose gold ring)


64 views

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page